About us


Some members of Euskampus former  (until 2020) Board: Iñaki San Sebastián TECNALIA CEO, Nekane Balluerka Rector of UPV/EHU, Manuel Tuñón de Lara Rector of Université de Bordeaux, Pedro Miguel Etxenike President of DIPC. Bordeaux.


Euskampus Fundazioa was founded on 19 July 2011. The founding members of Euskampus Fundazioa are the University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU), Corporación Tecnológica (Tecnalia) and the Donostia International Physics Centre (DIPC). Euskampus Fundazioa was created as an inter-institutional instrument to manage and govern the Euskampus International Campus of Excellence (CEI) of the UPV/EHU. This strategic project is highly complex due to the inter-institutional nature which brings in entities with different missions and disparate cultures. In addition, the impact and the institutional adoption of the vision and actions contemplated in this project by the promoting entities need to be measured over a long time frame.

Throughout 2012, three new private entities joined the Euskampus Trust: Ormazabal-Velatia Group, CAF and Kutxabank. It also became part of the Basque Foundation for Science - Ikerbasque. This reinforced the commitment by CEI Euskampus and the public/private nature of the project by including solid agents from the productive, economic and innovative fabric of the Basque Country. In addition, Manuel Tuñón de Lara, Chancellor of the University of Bordeaux and Chairman of the University of Bordeaux since 2014 was named as honorary trustee.

After completing the CEI Euskampus project in December 2015, Kutxabank withdrew from Euskampus Fundazioa as it was consolidated with the Agirre Lehendakaria Center for Social and Political Studies, an international programme that had initially supported the project.


During 2016, after successfully completing the CEI Euskampus project, strategic reflection led to a new Strategic Plan for 2016 to 2020. This plan confirms the initial commitment of Euskampus Fundazioa as the catalyst for bringing together UPV/EHU, Tecnalia and DIPC. In this new stage, the University of Bordeaux has joined the Euskampus trust. The inclusion of the University of Bordeaux in Euskampus became official in June 2017, reinforcing the partnership established between the two Universities for international cooperation within the framework of the Bordeaux-Euskampus Cross-Border Campus. At the same time, it opens up new channels for collaboration between the University of Bordeaux, other Euskampus entities, and the Basque Country in general.